Welcome to School Notices
Get the inside track about your school,
school life, exclusive rewards, and
buy and sell to other independent
school parents Learn more.

Dean Close St John’s

Day & Boarding 3-13yrs
Type: Pre-Prep, Prep
Pupil Numbers: 140
Entrance Procedure: Throughout the entry process, you will be guided by the experienced Admissions Team, who are there to arrange a visit, explain what forms need to be completed and answer any questions you may have. The first step in the Admissions process is usually a visit to Dean Close St John’s (online or in person). We offer Taster Days so your child can experience what life at the school might be like. The steps are as follows: Registration Registration reserves a place for your child at the school. You will need to complete the Registration documents and a fee of £100 is payable at this stage. Entrance Assessment Once your child has registered they will be invited for a couple of Taster Days. Children from Year 3 will be invited to sit a Progress Test, which is simply used to understand your child's stage of learning. Offer of a Place & Acceptance Once your child has been offered a place, you will need to sign and return the contract and pay the acceptance deposit of £250 for Pre-Prep or £500 for Prep. You will then be invited to complete new starter forms.
Fees per term: Reception £2860 Years 1-2 £3430 Years 3-4 £4680 Years 5-6 £5250 Years 7-8 £5400 Boarding £6950

As parents we love...

As pupils we love...

What makes us different

Set in beautiful, leafy grounds overlooking Chepstow Castle and the River Wye, Dean Close St John’s values the importance of outdoor learning, allowing children to thrive in an environment that encourages real childhood experiences.

Outdoor classroom, chickens, forest school and a cob pizza oven built by the children
Indoor heated swimming pool
On-site Kindergarten with free wraparound care, French, Art, Music and Swimming.
Strong on Sports, Art, Music and Drama
All-through Scholarships to Dean Close School, Cheltenham

Admissions

Personal tours can be arranged with our Head of Admissions, throughout to year to suit your needs.
Castleford Hill, Tutshill, Chepstow, Gloucestershire, NP16 7LE

Useful Dates

Term Dates:

MICHAELMAS TERM 2022 Tuesday 6th September – Friday 16th December (After Carol Service, approximately 1.00pm) Boarders Return: Monday 5th September from 5.00pm Start of Term: Tuesday 6th September Exeat: Friday 23rd September, 4.30pm – Sunday 25th September Half-Term: Friday 21st October, 3.15pm – Sunday 6th November (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Monday 7th November – second half of term begins Exeat: Friday 25th November, 4.30pm – Sunday 27th November (Boarders return from 6.00pm) End of Term: Friday 16th December, after Carol Service (Approximately 1.00pm) *LENT TERM 2023 Tuesday 10th January – Friday 24th March (3.15pm) Start of Term: Tuesday 10th January Exeat: Friday 27th January, 4.30pm – Sunday 29th January (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Half-Term: Friday 17th February, 3.15pm – Sunday 26th February (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Monday 27th February – second half of term begins Exeat: Friday 10th March – Sunday 12th March (Boarders return from 6.00pm) End of Term: Friday 24th March *TRINITY TERM 2023 Tuesday 18th April – Saturday 8th July (After Speech Day, approximately 1.00pm) Monday 17th April (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Start of Term: Tuesday 18th April Exeat: Friday 28th April, 4.30pm – Bank Holiday Monday 1st May (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Half-Term: Friday 26th May, 3.15pm – Sunday 4th June (Boarders return from 6.00pm) Monday 5 June – second half of term begins Exeat: Friday 23rd June, 4.30pm – Sunday 25th June (Boarders return from 6.00pm) End of Term: Saturday 8 July, after Speech Day (Approximately 1.00pm) *These dates are provisional and subject to change.

Open Days:

We run a series of Open Mornings, usually in Autumn and Spring.

Logged out | Log in